T: (08) 9797 4400

Principal’s Welcome 2020

The staff of Australind Senior High School wish to welcome all of our community back to the 2020 school year.  We have come off the back of some fantastic 2019 results with our school being the only regional public senior high school to finish in the top 50 schools in WA. We will continue to build on this success as we have now achieved this in consecutive years.

Our school culture remains one of support and high expectations for all of our students as we continue to grow and showcase our remarkable young people to be the best that they can be. In the coming school year we are reframing our school business plan and developing stronger school processes supporting our students with barriers to their learning as well as continuing the exceptional programs that are well established for our students to flourish.

One of the biggest changes to school culture has been the recent announcement by the Minister for Education on the need for mobile phones not be to be used during the school day.  We have been delighted by the level of support that students and parents have provided on this new position and we would like to thank our community for this support. Students may bring their own mobile device for learning purposes such as an iPad or a laptop to help support them if they choose. More information can be accessed by contacting the school.

This year our projected enrolment is again pushing towards 1500 students with further growth forecast. Our Year 7 enrolment continues to grow and sits at around 300 students.  This follows the trend in our local primary schools. As a result, we have had to closely consider our enrolment processes to ensure that we continue to have the capacity to enrol local students. The power of a big school is that we can offer a broader range of offerings to our students to best meet their personal circumstances.

This year we also welcome the following staff to our school:

Tamara Nurse (Deputy Principal), Lee Crabtree, Tammy Day, Florina Geroff, Evie Hooper, Rachelle Koekemoer, Kathryn MacNish, Dupinder Mann, Whitney McAullay, Emily Morton, Bree Travina, Kylee, Ryan, Catherine Lofthouse, Rowena Williams, Sarah Woodward, Kathryn Shacklton (School Psychologist), Leah Curo (School Nurse), Susan Boyle and Theresa Basnett (School Officers)

Australind SHS staff and students wish to acknowledge the importance of our Year 12 Student Executive leadership team as they are important advocates for the student body. In the past they have been supported in their leadership by Mr Paul Renfree and Ms Abbie Walton, and this year they will hand their mentoring role to Ms Justine Selihar and Mr Rhett Bennetts. Our Student Executive will continue to work closely with the School Executive Team and the School Board to continue to provide a strong student presence in our daily work. We look forward to the wonderful opportunities that might be created as we work closely with our students.

Our 2020 Student Executive include:

Christina Bennell – School Captain 2020

Dylan Briggs – School Captain 2020

Dylan Hudspith-Logan – Vice Captain

o   Joel Acheampong

o   Libby Adcock

o   Eloise Taylor

o   Flynn Newman

o   Amelia Daqui

o   Lexie Benkesser

o   Imogen Pinelli

An event not to miss is the Year 7 Student and Parent Welcome BBQ on the Front Lawn after school to be held from 5pm to 7pm, Wednesday 12th February.

We wish all members of our school community a great 2020 ahead and if parents/caregivers would like to make any comment in relation to their child or our services, please contact the school directly and we will be very happy to assist.


Domenic Camera