T: (08) 9797 4400


School Board Annual General Meeting



School Board Member – Julie Beelitz

Taking over as Australind SHS Board Chair in October 2018, I invested significant time in understanding what is the main function of a School Board of an Independent Public School. School Boards have little authority; their primary role is to be advocate for the school in the community, business partnerships and the government of the day.

With this in mind as Board Chair, I have worked with the School Principal, Mr Domenic Camera to ascertain the issues facing the school in 2019 and beyond. ASHS is the school of choice for the surrounding communities in the Shires of Harvey and Dardanup. This has led to rapid school population growth increasing from 990 students in 2012 to 1251 students currently and 1400+ projected for 2021.

Whilst growth is wonderful for the school and broader community in providing greater choice for students, it has also highlighted the need for a rapid physical expansion programme to adequately provide for our current and future students.

Understanding the urgency of our predicament, I have also worked closely with members of the School Board to ensure that the school is adequately resourced to deal with the rapid population growth in our community. This imminent need for resources has become the primary focus of the School Board: we have campaigned hard to ensure that local politicians, Department of Education executives and our local community understand our need for urgent action to ensure our students are provided with the resources they need to succeed in their chosen pathways.

We are lobbying for a:

  • Significant increase in overall permanent student classroom accommodation
  • Provision of an expanded Student Services accommodation to cater for an increasingly complex student population
  • Expansion of specialist areas such as, science labs, technology and enterprise classrooms, arts and sporting facilities

On behalf of our community, I am looking forward to achieving these goals to enable our fine school to continue its efforts in ‘growing remarkable people.’




Domenic Camera – Principal

Tamara Nurse – Deputy Principal

Adam Blackmore – Deputy Principal

Ross Hillier – Deputy Principal

Maureen Bailey – Manager Corporate Services

Julie Beelitz – School Board Chair

James Yorath – Industry Representative

Christian McGill – Industry Representative

Cassie Wilson – Parent Representative

Rebecca Starke – Parent Representative

Megan Bates – School Captain

Ammie Turner – School Captain

Alicia Roberts – Finance and Administration Officer